The Spear of the Nation
Notable members of MK

Notable members of MK


It is very difficult to isolate individually outstanding MK members of Umkhonto we Sizwe, as all those who joined the Military Wing of the ANC were prepared to pay the supreme prize for the united, democratic, non-racial, non-sexist and prosperous South Africa. The MK cadres listed below are some of many.

  1. Nelson Mandela
  2. Joseph "Joe" Slovo
  3. Vuyisile Mini
  4. Ruth Mompati
  5. Thembisile "Chris" Hani
  6. Sathyandranth Ragunanan "Mac" Maharaj
  7. Solomon Mahlangu
  8. Thandi Modise
  9. Barney Molokwane
  10. Robert McBride
  11. Petrus Jabane
  12. Phila Ndwandwe
  13. Anton Fransch